Virginia Tech Police Department

Investigations Unit

Detectives at work in the investigations office

The Investigative Unit consists of a Lieutenant, a detective Sergeant, and five Detectives. The purpose of this unit is for investigations, background checks, and information gathering and sharing. This unit works closely with the Community Outreach Unit in providing crime prevention when applicable, as well as utilizing university and local resources. One Detective is assigned to the New River Regional Drug Task Force (NRRDTF).